Is Whey Gluten Free?


 

Gluten Free Recipes The Best Easy Gluten Free Recipe Cookbook What Foods Have Gluten Get More Gluten Free Recipes

100% pure whey is gluten free but there are several ways in which it can become contaminated with gluten. Whey is a protein that is found in milk and milk products. It is a byproduct that remains when the milk has been curdled for the purpose of making cheese. It is a high quality protein and is widely available in powder form. Naturally whey is absolutely free from gluten and can be easily consumed by gluten intolerance or celiac disease. Whey is also rich in amino acids and can be easily digested and absorbed and therefore is best suited for celiac patients.

Whey is 100% gluten free; however there are several sources through which it can get contaminated with gluten. Whey is commercially available in powder form and therefore cross contamination can occur during the packaging process in the food manufacturing industries. If the equipments used for packaging wheat based products have been used for packaging whey powder then it can get contaminated with gluten. Therefore it is advised to gluten intolerant individuals that while purchasing whey look for labels that state ‘gluten free’.

“100% pure whey is gluten free but there are several ways in which it can become contaminated with gluten.”

Though whey is gluten free, individuals suffering from gluten intolerance may not be able to tolerate it. This is because individuals having gluten intolerance may also show signs of intolerance to milk, hence they cannot tolerate whey. Research has shown that often wheat and milk allergies occur together and therefore it becomes difficult for individuals to consume milk products. Gluten intolerance adversely affects the small intestine and as a result it also affects the production of enzyme lactase which is required for breaking down lactose present in milk. Due to this, people with gluten intolerance may also experience lactose intolerance and therefore may be required to avoid both gluten and lactose.

Gluten intolerant individuals should include whey protein in their diet as it is a good source of protein and good quality protein will help you to recover faster from the effects of the symptoms. But make sure, the whey protein that you purchase is gluten free. The best alternative is to make your whey at home which will be naturally free from gluten.

Gluten intolerance is a disease that affects the small intestine making it incapable of absorbing nutrients from the food. Gluten intolerance occurs due to several autoimmune reactions that take place inside the body when gluten is ingested. Gluten is a protein composite present in cereals grains such as wheat, rye and barley. Individuals suffering from gluten intolerance experience gastric troubles, abdominal distention, malabsorption syndrome, depression, anemia and bone disorders to name a few. If timely precautions are not taken and the body is continuously abused with gluten containing products then it can led to several debilitating conditions.

Adhering to a gluten free diet can help alleviate all the symptoms and put the individuals at ease. There are several foods that are free from gluten; however there are many foods that may have hidden sources of gluten or may get contaminated during various processes. Of the various foods, whey is one such product that is free from gluten but can get contaminated during various processing activities.

Click To Get Free Gluten Free Recipes

Find us on Google+

Summary
Article Name
Is Whey Gluten Free?
Author
Description
100% pure whey is gluten free but there are several ways in which it can be contaminated with gluten. Whey is a protein that is found in milk and milk products.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>